top of page
Writer's pictureNofel Nawras

Email To An Old Flame



Cristian Newman Unsplash



Beloved,


Have you read the Song of Solomon? Have you tasted the fruit of the vineyards and the valleys?


Those stupid, sexually frustrated men. Imbeciles. They’ve destroyed love and continue to do so, day and night and forever. What is a man but a broken reed that blows in the wind, forever lost without his soul? I am his soul. I am She who is love and where is he that can love me?


From the beginning in Nineveh, in Uruk, The Chaldees, in Aleppo, Damascus and Babylon, I wandered searching for my love and found him in the taverns and he was whoring and drunk. I looked deep into his eyes and held his gaze.


They make out it’s some sort of wedding, some sort of God thing. Read it and tell me it’s not a man and a woman making explicit love that’s not sexual but divine. The allusions, the painting of wild animals, the gardens and luscious fruit, the vines and pomegranates, the breasts, thighs, lips that drip honey and manna and…


We fell, beloved. I fell with you, broke my heart, broke my flesh. It bled and we became as two, not one. We walked together limpingly, haltingly, found the sadness of age, death and decay. I looked at you in the tavern, held your gaze. We saw what we had become. Saw the death of love.


Thank God for the shed. Who needs love, right?


Christ! I bet you’re sweating now! I bet you’re thinking Jesus, this woman is mad, insane, a lunatic. Yeah, I am. A lunatic. I am a lover of La Lune and its phases, it’s cycles, its essence. It is the night and the seas and the motions of water and the moaning of love, the morning of love, the dawning of love with the vanishing of the ghost of past and future. The freedom of love that knows no end. I am the smiling face at the tavern door that calls you into my whoredom, my freedom, my wholeness that knows you. Knows who you truly are and waits forever.


Guess that’s us done. Look, I know we spoke about relationships, fear, commitment and I heard you psychically squealing, your tightness, your butt-cheeks clenching and twisting in abject terror.


You think we’ve forgotten how to communicate silently?


I really enjoyed our conversation. The hope of a new world with the end of sexual manipulation, oppression by patriarchal man and the dawning of a new era of love. The healing of the planet and the amazing rise of ‘Green Politics’. The wonder of the new age of mass communication, the astonishing achievements, promise of the new science, AI, biogenetics, space exploration. The present and future look so good, so promising. I’m so happy. So very, very happy.


Love.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page