top of page
Writer's pictureNofel Nawras

How I write stuff.

Updated: Feb 12, 2020

'It's clobbering time!'

Anyone recognise those words? I enjoy the end results of writing. If they're good that is, whatever that is... Anyway, come and join me and teach me how to write better, best, bestest. No. Come and have fun, seriously. Is that a tautology or an oxymoron? Or just plain silly? I'm a little insane and quite a bit foolish when it comes to the nuts and bolts of things. They give me headaches. I know, I know, you can't build houses without foundations. Who needs a house? I want a wigwam! Come and set one up with me.

So I was thinking...


There has to be someone out there that likes similar stuff. Cards on the table time. I'm old school. I love Hemingway and Miller and Steinbeck. Does anyone read Pynchon anymore? Gravity's Rainbow sent me to the Sanctuary. Am I allowed to say that? It's such a lovely word. The thing is I know there's a formula. Sure and bejesus it's as clear as daylight. Flann O'Brian. Oh, Lord I love his books.


This is my first blog. You can tell. I'm a child, so I am, to the wiles of the cyber delights. The thing is, I'm sorely in need of assistance in the department of creativity and design when it comes to the process of scribing and scribbling.


Let me confess, I'm totally doolally. Having reached the age of sixty or so, I decided to return to childhood, not only physically and psychologically as I approach the grim doo dah, but also in actuality. I'm a third year university student, bedad. Surrounded by all the lovely people I never met in my misspent youth, I'm born again! Hallelujah!

I'm loving it. There are certain modern idioms that I abhor and detest and cannot abide. The use of the verb 'loving', with or without the 'g' as vomited by a certain golden arch brand, being one of them. I want to be precise with you from the outset.


So I was wondering...


In the spirit of the God-mad dervish that dwells in my heart, I'd love to share my experience of life, of writing, of being alive in these crazy times... and was wondering if you might be similarly inclined? Have you any writing, insights, stories, experiences from your life, your journey you'd be willing to share? I'd love to hear from you. I'm open to any communication in a spirit of mutual respect and openness.

Perhaps we could learn from each other.


Ah Love! could thou and I with Fate conspire

To grasp this sorry Scheme of Things entire,

Would we not shatter it to bits--- and then

Re-mould it nearer to the Heart's Desire!

Omar Khayyam


Well, there we are. I've begun. I haven't a clue how this works but it can't be as hard as trying to find a National Health dentist. Enough and to work.




30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page