top of page
Writer's pictureNofel Nawras

10 Writing Tips From An old Master

Updated: Apr 24, 2020



Photo by Ron Whitaker on Unsplash.


For many years, I've been indebted to the wisdom of Lao Tsu. I return to him constantly for inspiration, guidance and clarity. The profundity of his words seems to have no limitations and can be transposed to all areas of life. Most recently I’ve sought my friend’s advice with writing difficulties. Who knows, perhaps he might be of assistance to you?


Ever get annoyed, angry, depressed by writing problems such as lack of inspiration, writer's block, feelings of ineptitude? Lao’s advice? Let it all go. Have a cup of tea. Go for a walk and then, return.


1. Return is the movement of the Tao

Yielding is the way of the Tao.


For over four decades, acting has been my passion. I spent many years studying all I could about the craft. Then I spent more years putting what I’d learned into practice until it became second nature. Finally, I didn’t have to think about how to do it. That doesn’t mean I’d stopped learning. On the contrary, I’ve found that the highest state of acting is to be utterly vulnerable and open to the new. A place of continuous learning in the present.


2. Open yourself to the Tao,

then trust your natural responses; and everything will fall into place.


I’m sure at some point in our lives we’ve all been mesmerised by a piece of music, a painting. Perhaps you've been stunned by a sunset, a range of mountains, a flower? At that moment, where were you? You vanished. For an instant, you were one with your perception. For me, it's the same with acting. In the process of being a character in the present, it’s possible to be utterly in the now. When that happens, there’s a falling away of appearance and a wordless union takes place.


3. Free from desire, you realize the mystery. Caught in desire, you see only the manifestations.


When I take on an acting part, I try to understand the character’s psychology. I look at the micro and the macro. How do I fit in the whole? How do I relate with others? What's the character trying to say? What are their needs, desires?


There comes a point when I give all that up. Having done the mind-stuff, I hand over to the body. My knowledge of the craft is not in my mind. My mind prevaricates, procrastinates. My body makes the tea.


4. True mastery can be gained by letting things go their own way.

It can't be gained by interfering.


I’m certain it’s the same process in all artistic endeavours. Without the underlying structure, the knowledge of the dynamics, nothing can be achieved. Then there’s the practice; throwing oneself into the void of exploration, being courageous, vulnerable, plumbing the depths of one’s creativity. It may take years of what seems like failure, but that’s not the case. Every step is an essential part of the process.


5. The journey of a thousand miles starts from beneath your feet.


Sometimes in acting, you hit a wall where everything collapses and you doubt yourself, doubt you can act and want to give it all up. It’s horrible. It seems to be a natural phase of the process. I’ve experienced many similar situations with writing.


Writing to a deadline can be exhausting. Perhaps you’re working on an idea that simply won't be born. You keep trying, forcing the issue but the more you try the less you create. It becomes a self-defeating exercise where you lose the thread, meander down endless avenues. There's a knowledge that something's wrong.

Have you ever done that? I know I have. In those instances, when I've been blessed to finally give up, surrender, yield... Guess what? The pressure is released and I'm free. I may not have a result but somehow, I know that all I need to do is come back later, return.


6. Fill your bowl to the brim and it will spill. Keep sharpening your knife and it will blunt.


On a long trek, it’s good to have an idea where you’re heading. Maybe a map or some friendly advice from a seasoned traveller. There seem to be so many experts these days offering just that. Who do you listen to? Take me, for instance... I might be a liar. I might be out to scam you.


At a click of a button, you can access how to write a bestseller, improve your writing in a week, make millions. I always listen to advice; doesn't mean I'll take it. I have to try it out, taste it, live with it.


7. Must you value what others value,

avoid what others avoid?

How ridiculous!


All the advice in the world is useless unless you have the desire to put yourself on the line. Without hard work, determination, persistence, the paradox of achieving what appears to be effortless will not arise.


8. Let your workings remain a mystery.

Just show people the results.


Have you ever watched a toddler learning to walk? It tries and tries and never gives up. It fails, gets frustrated, persists, and with loving encouragement, it succeeds. Once it has the knowledge in its body, it no longer tries.


9. True straightness seems crooked.

True wisdom seems foolish.

True art seems artless.


Artlessness comes not only with love, dedication but also, with trying. In the beginning, it may be necessary but at some point, it has to be relinquished, replaced by simply doing one's best. Doing one's best is enjoying the process, being open to the new and continually learning.


10. In pursuit of knowledge, every day something is added.

In the practice of the Tao, every day something is dropped.

Less and less do you need to force things, until finally, you arrive at non-action.

When nothing is done, nothing is left undone.

Stephen Mitchell, Tao Te Ching.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page